Spotlights

A Song of Ice and Fire: The Books That Were Promised

Comments 87

A Quick Review of a Long Series: ASOIF

This is a spoiler-free review of A Song of Ice and Fire, and it is also a brief comparison of ASOIF vs. the GOT TV show.

The GRR Martin epic fantasy series, “A Song of Ice and Fire,” has been compared most often to Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkien. Of course, most of today’s readers were not alive to suffer the torment as Tolkien wrote his epic series out in stages that lasted from 1937 until 1949. Also, that only did take 12 years, and readers are still eagerly awaiting the last two books in this series (the books that were promised), and it’s been 19 years since the first publication of Game of Thrones.

The main complaint in this review is that there is no copy of The Winds of Winter or A Dream of Spring to read yet. However, nobody can fault the author for neglecting to create a complex fantasy that inspires almost obsessive devotion from fans. That’s a lot of responsibility, and all readers are hopeful that the completed masterpiece will be worth the wait. It might make one wonder if ASOIF will be quite as special to future generations who could just read all of the books.

Find A Song of Ice and Fire Books

Fire & Blood: 300 Years Before
$20.99 $35.00
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The thrilling history of the Targaryens comes to life in this masterly work by the author of A Song of Ice and Fire, the inspiration for HBO’s Game of Thrones. Centuries before the events of A Game of Thrones, House Targaryen—the ...
Usually ships in 24 hours
A Game of Thrones / A Clash
$33.29 $49.95
The perfect holiday gift for fans of HBO’s Game of Thrones—a boxed set featuring the first five novels!An immersive entertainment experience unlike any other, A Song of Ice and Fire has earned George R. R. Martin—dubbed “the American Tolkien” by Time magazin...
Usually ships in 1-2 business days
A Feast of Ice and Fire: The
$13.61 $35.00
Ever wonder what it’s like to attend a feast at Winterfell? Wish you could split a lemon cake with Sansa Stark, scarf down a pork pie with the Night’s Watch, or indulge in honeyfingers with Daenerys Targaryen? George R. R. Martin’s bestselling saga A Song of Ice a...
Usually ships in 1-2 business days
A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms
$7.01 $30.00
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY LOS ANGELES TIMES AND BUZZFEED • Taking place nearly a century before the events of A Game of Thrones, A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms compiles the first three official prequel novellas to Geor...
Usually ships in 1-2 business days
A Game of Thrones
$4.62 $9.99
NOW THE ACCLAIMED HBO SERIES GAME OF THRONES—THE MASTERPIECE THAT BECAME A CULTURAL PHENOMENON Winter is coming. Such is the stern motto of House Stark, the northernmost of the fiefdoms that owe allegiance to King Robert Baratheon in far-off King’s Landing. There ...
Usually ships in 1-2 business days
A Song of Ice and Fire 2019
$7.60 $17.00
Call the banners—a new Game of Thrones calendar is here! In this 2019 edition, master illustrator John Jude Palencar brings his surreal imagination to iconic moments of George R. R. Martin’s spellbinding fantasy saga, A Song of Ice and Fire. Renowned for his work wi...
Usually ships in 1-2 business days
The Complete Annotated Grateful
$24.84 $37.50
Celebrate the fiftieth anniversary of the most popular and enduring band ever: “Even the most hardcore Deadheads will be impressed by this obsessively complete look at the Grateful Dead’s lyrics” (Publishers Weekly).The Complete Annotated Grateful Dead Lyrics is a...
Usually ships in 4-5 business days
Game of Thrones: A Pop-Up
$48.70 $65.00
Inspired by the Emmy® Award–winning credits sequence that opens each episode of the hit HBO® series, Game of Thrones: A Pop-Up Guide to Westeros is guaranteed to thrill the show’s legions of fans. Featuring stunning pop-up recreations of several key locations from...
Usually ships in 1-2 business days
A Game of Thrones: The Illustrated
$23.61 $50.00
A dazzling illustrated edition of the book that started it all—for readers of A Song of Ice and Fire and fans of HBO’s Game of Thrones.Published in celebration of the twentieth anniversary of George R. R. Martin’s landmark series, this lavishly illustrated specia...
Usually ships in 1-2 business days
The Official A Game of Thrones
$10.00 $16.95
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The perfect holiday gift for fans of George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO’s Game of Thrones, this one-of-a-kind adult coloring book features forty-five exclusive illustrations!   ALL MEN MUST DRAW   In a world where we...
Usually ships in 1-2 business days

Game of Thrones on TV vs. ASOIF Books

The book became quite popular, but it never would have been quite as popular as it currently is without the Game of Thrones TV show on HBO. At least, the show airs every year, even if for only 10 episodes. The biggest problem with that is that the TV show has caught up and even passed the book on some story threads.

Also, the two stories run parallel, but they are not identical. People who have died, for example, in the show are still alive and waging the game of thrones in the books. Others who came back from the dead in the books, are still considered dead on HBO. In a way, this is a courtesy for book readers because they can still expect surprises even if the show passes the books. Meanwhile, many of the “unsullied,” or TV show watchers, have never read the books and may not ever intend to.

What Makes ASOIF That Good?

Few readers doubt that GRR Martin has created a world and populated it with characters that are all so engaging that readers care about what happens to them. In some cases, readers may care that they live or even hope that they die, but they care.

Also, Martin has subverted some tropes of fantasy and even story telling. Good guys die, and that’s even true of guys and gals that readers think are the main characters. As some fade or outright get their heads chopped off, other minor characters become more important. In this way, the world is realistic. In real life, good guys don’t always win and very often, greedy and even crazy people come out on top.

Of course, almost everybody in this series is neither entirely good nor entirely bad. Of course, some are more sympathetic than others. However, characters that might be hated in the beginning may become more sympathetic later, or they may just become more sympathetic when their actions are viewed through a different point of view.

Part of the reason that Martin can pull this off so well is because of the third-person, limited point of view that he employs. Each chapter is written from the point of view of a character, so the reader only knows what that character knows. From one character’s perspective, another character might have committed an awful act. However, when viewed from that character’s point of view, the act may have been somewhat justified.

Is the TV Show or Book Series Better?

It’s hard to say if ASOIF is better than GOT. Of course, a lot of readers will say that. It’s just that no TV show or movie can hope to match the scope of details that a novel can offer. If somebody had to choose one, the books might win. However, most fans both read the books, watch the show, and find other ways to hang onto GRR Martin’s every word.

 

 

The beast runs this joint, so feed the beast by socializing and contributing to the comments.

About the author / 

Beast

The beast runs this joint, so feed the beast by socializing and contributing to the comments.

Related Posts

Comments

  1. easefeeds says:

    Wow, yeah.. we need another ASOIF book! I remember waiting for the next Harry Potter book with my kids. Of course, that usually only took a year each. 🙂

Amazon Specials

The Latest

  • Historical Romance

    The Historical Romance Book Genre Historical romances are a type of historical novel that takes place in the past. They may contain several plot lines, but the main plot usually follows the romance of the hero and heroine. The setting might be based upon fictionalized accounts of real events. While the authors of some historical…

  • Pirate Historical Romance

    Pirate Romance – The Pirate and the Sunrise Princess

    The Pirate and the Sunrise Princess: A Pirate and Princess Romance in the 1800s Caribbean Bottom Line: We featured another Kat Monet book before. That one was a Medieval Romance titled Blade and Blaise. We enjoyed the depth of that story. This time Kat Monet decided to compose a long novelette instead of a longer…

  • Blaide and Blade

    Historical Romance: Blaise and Blade

    Historical Romance with a Hint of Erotic Spice Free on Sunday, 11/26 – Other times, bargain priced at $3.99 Here’s the bottom line review: Kat Monet delivers what romance readers really desire. Blaise and Blade is a full-length, historical romance novel with plenty of suspense and action. Plus, there is just enough erotic spice and…